Currently Being Moderated

Enrichment 4 Kids Gifted Specialist Cindy Dwyer Named NASA Explorer School Teacher

The following was re-printed from:


NASA Explorer Schools 2011 Teacher Selections



NASA has selected sixty-three teachers, who are currently in the NASA Explorer Schools (NES) project, to participate in summer research experiences in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) and professional development opportunities, beginning in July.  NASA Explorer Schools, or NES is committed to identifying educational best practices and recognizing innovative use of NASA educational content. Each year, a group of innovative teachers will be invited to participate in unique NASA research workshops designed to expand their STEM, content knowledge and provide collaborative networks with other motivated and exemplary educators.


The STEM content knowledge that the teachers gain through these summer experiences and opportunities will be applied throughout the coming school year with their students. The teachers, from twenty-seven states and the District of Columbia, were selected based on their innovative ideas and demonstrated use of NASA STEM content in the NES project.


"As a student, I valued and appreciated teachers who nurtured my dreams for space exploration," said veteran astronaut Mike Foreman. "NASA is pleased to select these teachers for the summer experiences, because we know they will have a critical role in developing our future leaders in science and technology." Foreman currently serves as chief of the External Programs Division at the Glenn Research Center in Cleveland. Glenn is the lead center for the agency's NES project.


For a list of the individuals selected and the schools they represent, scroll to the bottom of this article.  (Check out Enrichment 4 Kids gifted education specialist Cindy Dwyer from Sayville, NY who will be participating this July.)


In addition to their all-expenses-paid summer training, held at various locations across the country based on a given topic, NES provides teachers with educational tools such as "NASA Now Events," a weekly web-based video feature that gives students a front-row seat to many of NASA's special activities and introduces them to some of NASA's subject matter experts in the fields of science, research and engineering.


NES, NASA's classroom-based gateway for students in grades four through 12, provides unique learning experiences that link STEM topics to real-world NASA missions, projects, research and careers. NES commits to identifying educational best practices and recognizes educators who use NASA STEM content in creative ways.


Since the launch of the new model for NES in September 2010, more than 1,300 teachers and administrators from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Spain and Turkmenistan have engaged their students in NASA STEM content.


To visit the Virtual Campus and learn more about NES, go to:


For more information about NASA's education programs, visit:


For more information about Glenn, visit:



2011 Teacher Selections


Amerman Elementary School, Northville, Mich.: Steve Anderson

Briarwood Elementary School, Oklahoma City, Okla.: Holley Sykes

Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh, N.C.: Diane Ripollone

Carver Jr. High School, Spartanburg, S.C.: Paulette Hill

Chapin Middle School, Chapin, S.C.: Kim Berry

Charles T. Kranz Intermediate School, El Monte, Calif.: Haile Ucbagaber

Charles T. Kranz Intermediate School, El Monte, Calif.: Alice Shum

Chippewa Hills High School, Remus, Mich.: Cris DeWolf

Clarendon School, Secaucus, N.J.: Patricia Smeyers

Clear Lake High School, Houston, Texas: Cynthia Wood

Copper Hills High School, West Jordan, Utah: Matthew Lund

Corpus Christi School, Chambersburg, Pa.: Amanda Blough

Corpus Christi School, Chambersburg, Pa.: Amy Fetterhoff

Curington Elementary School, Boerne, Texas: Joan Labay-Marquez

East Hartford Glastonbury Elementary Magnet School, East Hartford, Conn.: Donna Rand

Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School, Dubuque, Iowa: Joe Dolan

Ellen Ochoa Learning Center, Cudahy, Calif.: Juliet Kovach-Ham

Ellen Ochoa Learning Center, Cudahy, Calif.: Kathryn Stevens

Exeter Township Jr High School, Reading, Penn.: Robert Petro

Faulk Middle School, Brownsville, Texas: Claudia Cortez

Ferndale Middle School, High Point, Calif.: Kimberly Forbes

Forest Heights Elementary School, Columbia, S.C.: Barbara Dire

Forest Hills High School, Marshville, N.C.: Sandra Jones

Forest Lake Elementary Technology Magnet School, Columbia, S.C.: Rebecca Steurrys

Forest Lake Elementary Technology Magnet School, Columbia, S.C.: Dennis Duke

Forest Lake Elementary Technology Magnet School, Columbia, S.C.: Tammy Lundy

Harding Middle School, Des Moines, Iowa: Natalie Francis

Harding Middle School, Des Moines, Iowa: Luke Spencer

Hobgood Elementary School, Murfreesboro, Tenn.: Chick Knitter

Indian River School, Canaan, N.H.: Sue Jukosky

Johnston Middle School, Houston, Texas: Lanena Berry

Lake View Elementary School, Huntington Beach, Calif.: Sandi Lewis

Lebanon Middle School, Lebanon, Ky.: Rebecca Wood

Lebanon Middle School, Lebanon, Ky.: Cheryl May

Legacy Christian Academy, Valencia, Calif.: Kelly Duffy

Mack Benn, Jr. Elementary School, Suffolk, Va.: Elizabeth Petry

Madison County High School, Gurley, Ala.: Christy Price

Martin L King, Jr. Elementary School, Washington, D.C.: Netosh Jones

Mescalero Apache School, Mescalero, N.M.: Nate Raynor

Metropolitan Arts Institute39, Phoenix, Ariz.: Rebecca Mestek

Millwood School, Midlothian, Va.: Bridget Evans

Newnan High School, Newnan, Ga.: Nancy Guillory

Northeast Nodaway, Parnell, Mo.: Denise Henggeler

Oakland Aviation High School, Oakland, Calif.: Christopher Freeze

Ocean Breeze Elementary School, Indian Harbour Beach, Fla.: Holly Mentillo

Oceanair Elementary School, Norfolk, Va.: Colleen Orman

Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic School, Germantown, Tenn.: Deidre Mangin

Potlatch Jr-Sr High School, Potlatch, Idaho: Laura Wommack

Rocky Ridge Elementary School, Hoover, Ala.: Elizabeth Gilmore

Sleeping Giant Middle School, Livingston, Mont.: Wendy Dlakic

St. Mary School, Ridgefield, Conn.: Patrick Alarcon

St. Mary's Visitation School, Elm Grove, Wisc.: Kathy Biernat

Sunrise Drive Elementary School, Sayville, N.Y.: Cindy Dwyer

The Academy of Information Technology & Engineering, Stamford, Conn.: Vin Urbanowski

The McCallie School, Chattanooga, Tenn.: Michael Lowry

The Peak School, Flagstaff, Ariz.: Kaci Heins

Tolar Jr. High School, Tolar, Texas: Diana Daniels

Tome School, North East, Md.: Cristine Larson

Village @Chester Upland, Aston, Penn.: Judith Lucas-Odom

Waterville Junior High School, Waterville, Maine: Robin Kennedy

West Ward Elementary School, Killeen, Texas: Elliott Alvarado

Wewahitchka Elementary/Middle School, Wewahitchka, Fla.: April Bidwell

Woodrow Wilson Middle School, Glendale, Calif.: Mary Inglish


If you're a K-12 educator in the U.S. or a U.S. territory and haven't registered yet for the NASA Explorer Schools project, take a few minutes and complete the NES registration form to become part of NASA's exciting K-12 gateway to the future.


Delete Document

Are you sure you want to delete this document?

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...